The History of LICA

The Land Improvement Contractors of America is an organization of earth moving contractors who care about the environment. Concerned contractors who worked to conserve the land and water resources started LICA in 1950. Today we have members and state chapters coast to coast. Their conservation ethic has been, and will continue to be, the hallmark of LICA.

For over sixty years, LICA contractors have paved the way for our country’s growth and expansion. Our contractors provide a wide range of services: grading, excavating, drainage, landscaping, paving, wetland development and site preparation, just to name a few. They work in cities, on farms, ranches and in rural areas. They work with dedication and commitment to the professional conservation of soil and water. You should always choose a LICA Contractor for all your construction needs.

Look for that familiar LICA triangle proudly displayed on their equipment. LICA Contractors strive to improve the business climate by working for better legislation and regulations, and keeping abreast of the current changes impacting their businesses, and providing training in the latest technology. Contactors are proud to be LICA Members!

LICA Objectives

The Association aims to encourage high standards of workmanship in resource management, and land improvement practices and to promote private enterprises in land improvement contracting. This association of contractors brings together people having similar interests and opportunities for improving our natural resources with an adequate profit.

2024 PA LICA Leaders

Barry Mutzabaugh Jr. – Dauphin, PA

Chairman of Board:
Chris Moore – Emlenton, PA

Justin Hoover

Executive Director:
Joanie Micsky
Greenville, PA

Ron Roncaglione
Linesville, PA

Board of Directors:
David Cottrell, Thompson, PA
Dan Micsky – Greenville PA
Richard G. Cottrell – Thompson PA


Steve Latimer – CASE Tractor & Equipment

Chris Deeb – Superior Energy Resources

Brenda Reigle – Dig Prevention Consulting

Past Presidents

2022 to present – Barry Mutzabaugh Jr.

2020-2022 – Chris Moore

2016-19 Evelyn Cottrell

2016 Steffanie Adams

2015 Daniel Micsky

2013-14 Daniel Micsky

2011-12 Fred Hays

2009-10 Sam Hohmann

2007-08 Ken Masser

2006 William Guiste

2004-05 Richard B. Cottrell

2002-03 Sam Hohmann

2000-01 Carey Waugh

1998-99 John Brown

1997 Richard C. Mummert


1996 William Guiste

1994-95 Elgene Ward

1993 William Traver

1991-92 Dale Sellers

1990 Lawrence V. Micsky

1988-89 Michael Allgyer

1987 Celin Sitlinger

1986 Gary Theuret

1985 John E. Deardorff

1984 Richard L. Wood

1983 Mark L. Ferster

1982 Willis Stauffer

1981 Joseph B. Barco

1980 Milton Funk

1979 Gasper Tucci

1978 Serene S. Witmer

1977 Arlene S. Cassel

1976 Lester E. Soden

1975 Richard C. Mummert

1974 William A. Guiste

1973 William A. Traver

1972 Robert M. Ross

1971 Gerald Kimmel

1970 Joseph Arendash


775 Mercer Road • Greenville, PA 16125 • Phone: 724-588-1954 • Fax: 724-475-4479Contact Us